Donate Now

Busta Rhymes Honored as Icon, Megan Thee Stallion Ties for Songwriter of the Year at 2022 BMI R&B/Hip-Hop Awards

Megan Thee Stallion tied for songwriter of the year honors.
Hip-hop legend Busta Rhymes was honored for his contribution to the art form and burgeoning superstar Megan Thee Stallion tied for songwriter of the year at the 2022 BMI R&B/Hip-Hop Awards, held at LIV Nightclub Miami Beach on Wednesday night.

BMI president and CEO Mike O'Neill co-hosted the private event, which sets out each year to honor the best in R&B and hip-hop and presented Rhymes as the BMI Icon citing his "defining impact on hip-hop and for mentoring the next generation of talent," to close the show.

A video tribute featuring a who's who of his famous peers and former collaborators was shown before he accepted the award — including Janet Jackson, Lil Wayne, Missy Elliot, Fat Joe and Mariah Carey, sharing their love for Rhyme's work.

Super-producer and sometimes artist Pharrell Williams was then called to the stage. He reminisced about his longstanding relationship with Rhymes and said that he felt "honored to be in the presence of someone who had the courage to be so different… and still does today."

Before performing a melody of his biggest hits to end the ceremony Rhymes commented on receiving the honor, "We're all blessed with this gift. It's one thing to identify with the gift, it's another thing to believe in it once you identify with it."

He added, "The most beautiful part about it is I earned this… I've never been celebrated as an icon before, but I never had to question whether I was one."

It was a fitting finale for a night highlighted by recognition of some of the best talent the music industry has to offer.

Megan Thee Stallion, whose career has skyrocketed in recent years and is coming off a viral appearance on the Marvel television show "She-Hulk," tied with Christopher "YC" Pearson for songwriter of the year for her co-writing her hits "Body," "Cry Baby" and "Thot Shit." Pearson co-wrote Moneybagg Yo' hits "Time Today" and "Wockesha," and Pooh Shiesty's "Back in Blood" (featuring Lil Durk).

Other major awards include Justin Beiber's massive hit "Peaches"(song of the year), Dernst "D'Mile" Emile was named producer of the year for his work on "Fair Trade" by Drake and Travis Scott, and "Smokin Out the Window," "Skate" and "Leave the Door Open" by Silk Sonic.

Sony Music was named publisher of the year for representing 20 of the previous year's most performed songs.

Click here to see a complete list of winners.

No comments

2017 Paid in Full Entertainment, Inc.. Powered by Blogger.