Donate Now

Nat 'King' Cole's Rare Music Unleashed in Digital Collection Just in Time for Father's Day and Juneteenth

Nat King Cole "From The Capitol Vaults (Vol. 4)" artwork
Nat "King" Cole fans have reason to celebrate this weekend as Capitol/UMe released a highly anticipated digital-only collection of rare music from the iconic jazz musician, "From The Capitol Vaults (Vol. 4)," today.

The collection features 14 timeless tracks, with 12 of them being available on streaming platforms for the very first time just in time for the upcoming Father's Day and Juneteenth celebrations.

According to a statement from Capitol/UMe, "From The Capitol Vaults (Vol. 4)" showcases Cole's "velvety-smooth" voice, capturing him at his most engaging. The album spans a variety of musical styles, from the dramatic and lilting "Little Child" (1951) to the charming romantic waltz of "You Will Never Grow Old" (1952).

Cole's playful side is revealed through tracks like "The First Baseball Game" (1961), while the bossa nova and samba rhythms of "More and More of Your Amor" (1964) add a touch of summer vibes. Notably, Cole's jazzy rendition of "You Are My Sunshine" breathes new life into the beloved American standard.

This compilation also features the thought-provoking track "We Are Americans Too" (1956), which carries a poignant Civil Rights message. Echoing the spirit of Juneteenth and the pursuit of equality, Cole's lyrics shed light on the struggles faced by fellow Americans, emphasizing their contributions and aspirations for a better future.

Born in 1919 in Montgomery, Alabama, Cole's career spanned several decades, and he became known for his rich baritone voice and masterful piano skills. He achieved great success with hit songs like "Unforgettable" and "The Christmas Song," leaving an indelible mark on popular music.

Beyond his musical achievements, he is remembered as a loving father to his five children. His daughter Casey Cole expressed her pride, stating, "We are so proud that our father touched the soul with his voice and was a quiet leader in the arts. He believed that he could bring harmony among people with his music. We want to continue that dream in a time when we really need it."

The tracklist for "From The Capitol Vaults (Vol. 4)" includes:
"Little Child" (1951)*
"You Will Never Grow Old" (1952)*
"You Are My Sunshine" (1955)
"True Blue Lou" (1956)*
"We Are Americans Too" (1956)
"This Holy Love" (1958)*
"Peace Of Mind" (1958)*
"Steady" (1960)*
"The First Baseball Game" (1961)*
"Goodnight Little Leaguer" (1961)*
"The Right Thing To Say" (1962)*
"Nothing Goes Up (Without Coming Down)" (1962)*
"More And More Of Your Amor" (1964)*
"Wanderlust" (1964)*
(*Denotes tracks available for the first time on streaming platforms.)

No comments

2017 Paid in Full Entertainment, Inc.. Powered by Blogger.